crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

ATTITUDE

Tomorrow starts another week in my super fun ART CLASS.

I love creating.

I love seeing what my students come up with when I give them an assignment.
Our assignment right now is varied. I gave all my classes 5 different pieces to choose from. They actually get to choose which one to do. They vary in subjects (some are broad, some are specific) and in media (acrylic, watercolor, pencil to mixed media).

I would LOVE to have this assignment.

You, as a student, get to choose then interpret the assignment how you see fit. It’s almost like total creative freedom. They do have to use a certain size to do their work. The other variables are broad enough that they can get kind of crazy or specific enough that they can think less when it comes to subject if they are typically slow at finding what they want to create.

Again, I would LOVE this project.

My favorite class in college was a design class where we had to basically take a “problem” in design and create an artwork to satisfy the problem. The problem to me was a challenge and I always loved to figure out what I would create. I wish more of my students looked at our projects like that.

A lot of times, our projects are specific–they use a specific media and study a specific element or principle of art, but this assignment we are doing now–it could just about go anywhere. Even if all the students chose the exact same project out of the 5 choices I’m giving them, every artwork could (and of course should) be totally different. To me, that is EXCITING!

To some of my students, they will just do whatever they can to just get a grade. Some students will try their best and give up half way through. Some will follow through, but still be unhappy with what they ended up with. A few students look at the project like I do and when they have completed, other students will marvel at their product and wish they had thought that way. If ALL students would just look at the project with an excitement and view it as a challenge, their work would end up so much differently. (THAT’S LIFE!) All have different abilities when it comes to creating and designing, but if their attitude started out like that—their art would ALL be amazing. I know, I know, beauty is still in the eye of the beholder, all critics’ opinions are different and art is so subjective, BUT attitude is the first part of anyone’s project—and in my class, IT’S THE FIRST PART OF YOUR GRADE!

I can’t wait to see what our artwork looks like this week–IT’S SO EXCITING! I wish I were my own student–I WOULD SO ROCK THIS PROJECT AND GET AN AWWWWWWWESOME GRADE!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

