crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

I’m a horrible teacher.

I don’t see how homeschooling parents do it.  I can’t teach my child a concept from her homework without going totally psycho.   There’s no way those parent/teachers do it without taking some kind of FOCUS meds themselves!

I try to teach her, thinking I’m doing the best job ever.  Then, she doesn’t get it.  I try it again.  She looks at me like I’m growing a second head.  I begin to get a little testy and with the next explanation, I’m pretty much talking through my teeth because I’m clinching them so.  This time she grows quiet –like  it gets right before the storm.  I try my best to not go off like a roman candle, but it doesn’t help.  I start spewing here and there and I can feel the blood pressure rising so that my eye balls feel as if they might pop out of my head.  I’m certain it was not pretty at all.  Ugly probably doesn’t even begin to explain what it looked like.  *sigh*

Looking back at the “episode” I think of it as some kind of alien attack.  It was some other crazy being jumping in my body and taking over.  Yes, a total possession that needed a major exorcism.

How in the world did that help my child understand what I was trying to “HELP” her get?!?

I’m a horrible teacher!

I did finally calm down enough to make the mood of the room lighter and somehow, God granted us the peace and tranquility we needed to continue with the lesson which ended in SUCCESS.  Only by the grace of God.  ONLY.   I can still feel the tension in the back of my neck from the cray cray moment.  Another ridiculous side effect of what should have never happened.

The first step to overcoming is admitting, right?  Well, that is what I’m doing.  When it comes to teaching my own child, I’m a horrible teacher.  So, overcoming comes next!

 

Comments on: "I’m a horrible teacher." (2)

  1. You have never been nor will you ever be a horrible teacher. I love you!

  2. Lol!!! That’s funny well not really but it is!! It brings back memories of me trying to teach Drew to spell a word! I would spell then have her spell it and she would add a letter every time!!! This went on for 10 min, my blood was boiling by now and I yelled at the top of my lungs… there isn’t a freaking(insert one bad word there) whatever letter she would try to add, in this word!!! I felt really bad afterwards and I’m pretty sure she probably never asked me to help her again!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

