crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

FRUITFUL

Our preacher today had a great sermon on worldy influences and how we should look to and confide in GODLY influences.

I especially liked the part where he talked about the verses Psalm 1:3-4 —

He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.  Not so the wicked! They are like chaff that the wind blows away.

I love the imagery of this verse.  The best, I believe, is the FRUIT part.  It is referring to a person who takes counsel in the Lord and does not look to the things of this world.  Here are the verses before these two–

Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers. But his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night.  Psalm 1:1-2

We should always bear fruit.

One of the quotes he used in the sermon was this from John Piper (founder of desiringGod.org)

on talking about FRUITFUL PEOPLE:

They are refreshing and nourishing to be around.  You go away from them fed.  You go away strengthened.  You go away with your taste for spiritual things awakened.  Their words are healing and convicting and encouraging and deepening and enlightening.  Being around them is like a meal.

That is so perfect!  I love those kind of people.  I love to be surrounded by people who show GOD in their walk and talk.  I love to laugh with them and be encouraged.

This is so my friend Tammy.  She has great words EVERY DAY for anyone who wants to be uplifted.  You can check her out on her facebook page: www.facebook.com/tammy.whitehurst or go to her main page: tammywhitehurst.com.

This is also my best friend, Reagan.  She and I talk about so many things—God always blesses us with each others’ words.  I’m so thankful for her.  She is my go to gal especially when I need some encouraging words.

This is also my 2nd best friend, Johnny (he and Reagan compete for the one spot!! hehe!).  He and I always talk about how GOD blesses us and teaches us.  He so helps me put things in perspective and knows how to comfort me when I’m going a bit nutso.  I’m so thankful that I’m able to work with an awesome man like this.

God puts people around us to do this. He puts FRUITFUL people in our midst so we can become fruitful too.  He encourages (and all those other words in the Piper quote) through HIS people.  It’s so comforting to know that He does this just for us!

I have so many others I could add to this list and I’m sooooooooooooo thankful for them!

I LOVE FRUITFUL PEOPLE!  I pray God blesses me with more of them.  I pray the same thing for you!

 

Comments on: "FRUITFUL" (2)

  1. Yes indeed! And set that example; be that light; it’s attracting you know?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

