crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

I Don’t Run

crush5k

I’ve never been a part of a 5K event.  I don’t run.  I can walk a ways and I can walk pretty fast, but I do not run.  I admire those who can and do, but I do not.  I walk on a treadmill almost every day and enjoy it, but again, no running.  I attempt to jog a little every once in a while, but nope, no running.  I mean, really, the only time I’d run is if I’m running toward my children because they need me in an EMERGENCY or away from a monster.   I know, I’ve made my point.

When the students I advise on the student council at work decided their *big* project would be a 5K, I was like OK, but I know nothing of running.  I know nothing of this kind of event.  Well, I knew nothing–but I’ve done some research.  I’ve chatted with people who know stuff and have hooked up with some very resourceful individuals.  My students have presented the project to several people and local community organizations.  They have talked to other students about such events and come up with some unique ideas on their own as well.

Through all this, it’s finally come to the day we go “LIVE” with the event.   A great tech guy created a page for our event through our school website.  Although I’ve never seen Blake’s face, I know he’s great, because I sent him probably about 20 emails about this event and he never sent me a mean email in return.  Trying to get everything pinned down on people, places and things was a bit of a feat.  The flyer was completed along with the registration form and this event is on GO!

I just wanted to blog about it, because even though I DON’T RUN, I believe this event will be great.  This is mainly due to the fact that the students have really worked on this and will continue to do so–getting t-shirt sponsors, getting the word out, rounding up registrations and selling tickets to the spaghetti dinner which is happening the night before the 5K.  Oh, we are also having a raffle for a cedar chest that one of our parents has donated!

THE BEST PART—besides the fact that I don’t have to run—is that ALL THIS is benefiting the Texas Oncology Foundation.  This foundation grants money to cancer patients in need right here in our local area.  They help all across Texas, but the money we collect will be staying in East Texas.  The students are especially excited about this.  I’m excited mostly because THEY are excited!

…and I don’t have to run. 🙂

If you’d like to check out our event, go to  www.crush5k.ocisd.net.

Comments on: "I Don’t Run" (2)

  1. RainyWriter said:

    I would run EVERY event that was for cancer if I could. I would … I would …

    Good on your for supporting those that do the runs …and for supporting your students. Yah you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

