crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

THE PRIZE

I’ve been reading the MADE TO CRAVE Daily Devotional by Lysa Terkeurst …off and on.  I haven’t done it exactly DAILY, but I read it every few days or so.  EVERY TIME I read it, it speaks to the craziness of my day/life.  I know her book is for those who are addicted to food (which I admit becomes one of my addictions at times)…or really, just addiction in general, but for her, it is/was food.  EVEN though she refers to food mostly in her book, her insight fits so many different facets of my life–not just in the area of food and the want/need to lose weight.  I’m addicted to work.  I am addicted to staying busy.   I don’t like to watch TV a lot, really, but I do have some shows that I like to watch and seem to get addicted to those at times.  Maybe these aren’t bad addictions, but they can get that way.  I believe *BAD* ADDICTIONS are those things that get in our way of doing what God wants us to do.  Not everything we tend to do a lot of or even as a routine is an addiction—it’s when whatever that is, pushes God over, takes His place, keeps you from Him–THAT is when it becomes a dangerous –bad addiction.

Today, Lysa’s writing was about working to get results.  So many times, we just want to see INSTANT results.  That is why so many people get surgery and take pills that are supposed to speed up some kind of transformation.  People buy machines and miracle creams to get a quick fix.  We have all done it.  I know I have!

Here’s the deal, though…WHEN WE FIGURE OUT THAT IN ORDER TO REACH OUR GOAL–WE ARE GOING TO HAVE TO WORK–We will see results!  God tells us this in the Bible.  Check it:

Good planning and hard work lead to prosperity, but hasty shortcuts lead to poverty. (Proverbs 21:5 NLT)

You will obtain your goal if you maintain your course. Keep on keepin’ on!  Press on.  Move forward.

Work hard. = Get results.

Furthermore…DON’T GIVE UP!  How do you do that you ask?  PRAY.  Ask sincerely for God to give you strength, courage and perseverance.  KEEP YOUR EYE ON THE PRIZE!  That is from the Bible too!  See:

I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. -Phill 3:14

I want the prize!!!

How about you?!?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

