crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

THE LIGHTHOUSE

pigeon-point-lighthouse-at-night

There’s a lighthouse on the hillside
That overlooks life’s sea.
When I’m tossed it sends out a light,
Tis a light that I might see.
And the light that shines in darkness now
Will safely lead us o’er.
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse,
My ship would be no more.

And I thank God for the lighthouse,
I owe my life to Him.
For Jesus is the lighthouse
And from the rocks of sin;
He has shone a light around me
That I could clearly see,
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse
Tell me where would this ship be.

This gospel song was written in 1971 by Ronnie Hinson.  Ir won the coveted Dove and Fan Award for Song of the Year in 1972.  That was the year I was born!   That is pretty cool.  This song holds a place in my heart, because it was one of the first ones I learned to sing with an accompaniment tape.  ((YES, A TAPE!—OLD SCHOOL!))  Also, this song is a song that is one of the favorites of a wonderful lady at our church who is our oldest member and is an awesome mentor and example to all the women in our church AND REALLY TO ALL at our church, not just the women.

The entire song (this is an excerpt above) talks about Jesus being a lighthouse.  We refer to Jesus as so many things for us, but this imagery of He being a LIGHTHOUSE is so perfect to me.  He shines his light so we may see …and we can get where we need to go.  We are like that ship.  Sometimes we are in rocky water.  Sometimes we are in rough, crazy and chaotic water.  Sometimes we are in the still waters.  No matter the waters (the circumstances of our lives), we should always keep an eye on that light AND HELP SHINE THAT LIGHT TO OTHERS.

I want to not only sing this song, but SHOUT IT!
I thank God for the lighthouse!  I owe my life to Him!  He is the lighthouse!  He saves us from the rocks of sin!  He shines his light all around us so we can see!  If it wasn’t for him, this ship would be lost!  Amen!

Thank You Jesus for being the Lighthouse.  I need you daily.  I’m so thankful You cover my sin, because I know I sin daily.  Thank You for being the light in my dark world!

Thank You God for giving Mr. Hinson this song. (I read he wrote it in his late teens on toilet paper. Divine messages can come at anytime and be written down on anything!  YES!)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

