crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

LESSONS LEARNED

Today…

I learned that some people are mean and rude no matter how you treat them.  I had students be disrespectful to me today who have NEVER even looked at me in a rude manner.  There is something about the end of school that makes a teenager crazy.  They will talk words of sarcasm under their breath, try to leave the room without asking or blatantly speak mean words directly to your face.  IT IS CRAZY.   Of course, TO THEM, the reason I get on to them after they do such things is because I– AM– IN– A– BAD– MOOD.  Wow. I’ve expected respect the entire year SO, all of a sudden, I am just “in a bad mood” instead of the fact that I’m still expecting them to show respect to me?  I do not get it.

I learned that students love to make messes on purpose and leave messes just so you can clean them up.  (ON THE FLOOR!)

I learned that students will do the very least they can on their assignment, but still act like they are working as hard as they can.  This is one of the craziest things I observe.  To me, it would be harder to do that than to actually work.

I learned that students will TELL YOU they are “finished working for the day,” because they painted two spots and since they have all week to work on the project, they can spend the other 25 minutes of class doing what they please.  What!?!

I learned that students will try their very best to get out of OTHER classes in order to come in your class and work on the project they didn’t work on when they were in your class.  Does that sentence I just wrote even make sense???

These lessons, I’ve learned before, but I’m usually not reminded of them daily until it gets to the last few weeks of the school year.  Some years are worse than others.  This year, it’s pretty bad, but I’m going to KEEP on KEEPIN on.  We are still going to WORK in my classes.  I’m going to teach and continue to demand respect.  Most of all, I’m going to pray for my babies.  I’m going to pray for their sanity and their peace and their safety.

I know you aren’t supposed to pray for time to pass quickly, because EVERY MINUTE is a gift from GOD, but God knows I am going to pray that summer comes quick!

You learning any lessons these days?

 

Comments on: "LESSONS LEARNED" (4)

  1. I think my son’s teacher is getting this behavior out of him too. (He is in Kindergarten) I got a note in the folder saying he was telling his teacher NO?! He stayed up a little later last night than usual, and had a rough start this morning – I think he will be in bed about 7:30 tonight. I think teachers should get parents more involved – instead of waiting until it gets out of hand…. but then again some parents would probably defend their kids bad behavior. Hang in there Mrs. Clawson….. it is almost over!! P.S. Give them homework for the summer and an address to mail it to 😉 Be Happy!!

  2. Joshua Miles said:

    I was reminded in a text from my wife yesterday why I am where I am, and I do what I do. It’s was so simple. God is going to give me the students that need me. (And the students I need) So, when I have to ride a student to do their best, or call home, or write them up for their choices I have been placed here by God for their benefit. Less then my best will not do. Not for them and not for God.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

