crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

Some gave all…

All gave some.  Some gave all.  ONE GAVE EVERYTHING.

Today, Memorial Day, is celebrated for so many reasons.  A lot look at it as a day off or a day out of school which is how I saw it most of my young errrr life.  I mean, what kid doesn’t want to be OUT OF SCHOOL on a Monday?!  I remember having a seafood dinner with my family.  Of course, this was after doing the few hours task with my grandmas and mom  (and whoever else we could get to do it) of shelling and deveining the shrimp.  It was worth it!  I knew it was a special day when we did that, but I wasn’t sure what MEMORIAL day was and what we were supposed to be remembering.  I thought maybe it was a day to remember the school year?  HA!  Like I ever wanted to do that!

I’m not sure what year it was that the light bulb turned on in my pea brain and I really realized that today is set aside to celebrate and remember those who have given their life to secure our freedoms.  We pay honor to those who lost their life by doing what a lot of us would not choose to do—stand up and fight for others.

The more I have thought about today and after hearing our preacher’s sermon yesterday on it AND again thinking about my favorite verse in the Bible (I have a lot I love, but this one is THE ONE):

John-15-13-web

Jesus is telling us in this verse many things.  He has told us what LOVE is.  He has told us that we should LOVE like this.  He is telling us that HE will be laying His life down for us!  AND HE DID.  Wow.

Today, I remember those who have gone before us and sacrificed their life to ensure we have the freedoms we have.  I pray that those still here remember what we have and continue to help secure it.  I remember the ones who left legacies which live on and on and pray that I can do that in some way before God takes me to my real home.

Above all, I remember, honor, praise and humble myself before a God, MY REAL GOD who sent His son to give HIS everything to us.  He paid the ultimate sacrifice by leaving heaven to finish a task that was asked of him.  He suffered, bled and died, taking our sins–ALL OF OUR SINS–on that cross so we may be FREE.   In this, He showed us the GREATER LOVE…the love we should show for others.

All gave some, some gave all, but JESUS GAVE EVERYTHING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

