crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

We are ALL teachers.

We all have those teachers that REALLY taught us.  We have those favorite ones that made us feel good about ourselves, pushed us to be our best.  Oh how safe we felt when we entered their rooms!  Those are the ones who truly influenced us the most.  They taught us so much!

BUT WE ALSO have those who made us negatively question our intelligence and confidence. They made us feel uneasy every time we saw them not only in class but at the grocery store.  Even though they were pretty much the opposite of the “favorite,” they still taught us something.

When I was in 6th grade, I politely raised my hand to ask a question.  Once called on, I asked the question.  The teacher then looked at me and told me that students like me were the reason she wanted to quit her job.  I will never ever EVER forget the way that lady made me feel.  Until that very day, she had been one of my favorite teachers.  Wow, did that change!  She will never know how much she taught me that day.  I admit, that was quite the downer for me.  I didn’t enjoy science as much after that day.  I never EVER asked another question in that class.  I wondered why she did that to me.  I don’t remember the question, but I’m certain it wasn’t anything to warrant her response.  I won’t go on and tell you about my pity party afterward.

What I want to tell you is …that she taught me to never EVER make someone feel like that.  Because of that day in 6th grade, I am a teacher that strives to make my students feel loved, cared for and IMPORTANT.

Even if I didn’t have my teaching degree, I would still be some type of teacher.  We all are!  You teach others something by your words and actions.  It’s a given.  Even if you are more of a follower, you are still leading someone.  You are setting an example at all times.  Is your example something worth following?

I learn so much from those around me …even my 10 year old child who wanted to know if Dinosaurs came before Adam and Eve?  He’s always questioning things and wanting to know more about this or that.  I love learning more and more just through his eyes.  Even at 10, he’s a teacher.  We are ALL teachers.

What have you learned today?
What have you TAUGHT today?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

