crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

HOPE

I’ve blogged about my brother recently. (Jimmy Knox)  He’s at home with Hospice care battling cancer.  Today was a day filled with many phone calls and lots of visits.  He was his normal self–joking with his friends and telling stories about memories I can barely, if at all, remember.  He laughed out loud on more than one occasion.  The medicine that has, at times, made his speech incomprehensible was held at bay today.  It didn’t take over his brain or bind his lips.  I am so thankful for today!  The cancer is doing it’s wicked job.  I hate it.  But for now, my brother is doing all he can…keepin’ on keepin’ on.  He ain’t dead!  He ain’t done!  He has hope for each breath and second that God gifts him.

Although some days have been so hard to watch, his HOPE is amazing to watch.

Many of his friends have reached out to ask me about him or tell me about their experience with him.  They have all talked about how sweet of a friend my brother has been to them.  I’m proud of him.  I wanted to share the sweet, sincere description his friend Anthony Bonnette wrote about him today:

We all like to think that we are unique, that we’re not really like anybody else. We all like to think that we are still that same innocent kid from the yearbook pictures, just trapped in a grownup body. I think that way about myself. Jimbo  however, was not like anybody I have ever known. He was a child for the whole 30 years I knew him, sometimes fussy, but almost always genuine and sweet. What always amazed me about Jim was his Hope. God blessed him with a never ending reserve of sweet, unrelenting belief in the promise of tomorrow. Soon, Jimbo will leave this world that has failed to deliver on almost any of it’s promises to him, but against all odds, his Hope remains. So when I think about my friend Jim, who has been a much better friend to me than I’ve ever been to anyone, when I think about his unabashed smile, when I remember his booming laugh, and when I am struck by the hollow blow of never seeing him again in this life, it is then that I remember his defining characteristic. And I Hope.

Wow.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

