crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

What a treasure!

You never know what you will find when you start digging.  Treasures lay there waiting to be found.

I found myself elbow deep in stuff today.  While I went through most of the things left in my brother’s house, I remembered when that house was my house too.  We grew up in that house.  I lived there for 21 years.  My brother lived there most all of his life.

I remember that my dad kept it a chilly 67 at all times –all seasons.  It didn’t seem like the ice house it was, I guess, since we were all accustomed to the temp.

I recall our kitchen bar being the hangout at so many different occasions.  It welcomed us for breakfast, after school snacks, studying and neighborly domino tournaments.  When my friends came over around the teenage years, it was what we all sat around and just hung out.

Today, as I dug through so many different items–some of which I had never seen and perhaps didn’t comprehend it’s rhyme or reason– I found treasures.  My friend who was with me through it all today, at times, gave me insight as to what exactly I as looking at.  There were a few items that baffled us both.

After everything was separated into piles of yes, no and maybe…

I found a few items I will keep and a million photos to go through, but the best treasure I found today was a Corningware dish.  Perhaps that sounds like it’s not much of a treasure.  I admit it wouldn’t really look like much of a treasure if you saw it either.  But to me… it is from a time when my mom and dad were happy.  It’s from a time when we would all sit down at the dinner table and eat together.  Mom would pull that big thing out of the oven full of her baked homemade macaroni and cheese.  (sorry kraft…it was better)  It reminds me of warmth, of love, of my family.

That treasure reminds me how treasured I felt as I grew up in that home.

What a treasure!

x354-q80

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Ricky's Ramblings

A mediocre guy trying to leave his mark on the world

Healthy Quack

The Reality of Healthcare....funny, scary, true....

THE BRAHMA BLOG

Paul Pewitt HS Principal's Blog Connecting the Pewitt Family

Redbird's Roost

The Future Is As Bright As The Promises Of God

Sally Cariker

Random thoughts and musings.

Brett E. Shoemaker

Live On Purpose

Martin love 5

Ordinary family serving an extraordinary God

TheCreativeWriter

A notebook in the chrysalis

Yearn for More

Your Expectations and Actions will Render a New you!!!

Technology Teacher Times

Technology in the Classroom and More

Clawson's Bloggity

crazy, weird, UNIQUE!

School Life

We CARE about the LIFE of your SCHOOL

Frizzy Chic

Where glitter and frizzy hair are just a way of life!

Rhythm And Glues

Adventures in Elementary Art and Music Education

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

OCHS Principal Blog

Information for Ore City High School

